FIGHT to WRITE

samwritefight

Sometimes the hardest thing about writing, is…well, writing.

I love to write. I think one of my biggest problems as a writer is that I have too many things that I am usually working on at one time.

Currently, my work in progress (WIP) is my sci-fi novel, but I am also working on a horror book, a nonfiction book based on myself and some struggles I came through as I child and adolescent, a mystery thriller called ‘Breaking In” (can’t talk about) and several short stories, which I am working on intertwining them into two novels in shorts.

But many writers out there that are like me, and love to write, and plan on it being their future careers, have some stumbling blocks to deal with. the biggest is TIME. For me, I could finish my WIP, and move on to finish other projects, if it were not for the restraints that time puts on me. For one, time only allows 24 hours to a day, and I am sleeping for 4 to 5 of those hours, at work 10 of those hours, eating, picking up the kids and taking the to basketball practice, bringing them home and getting homework done, baths, stories read, and them to bed for about another 4 to 5 hours, and occasionally my wife and I have the same nights off, and I have to make sure that I use that time wisely. My family comes first. Oh yeah, since I’m diabetic, I am supposed to be working out four to five times a week (which is working out great right now). But this leaves me with little time to write.

Working a job that is not at all set on a normal schedule makes it hard to set a daily schedule that I can get use to. At times I want to forget about my passion to write, because it seems like writing has become, for me a daily ritual of hunting down any spare time and filling it with writing. But about the time that I decide I’m going to forget it two things happen:

1. I get so much stuff inside, that I almost bust. I have to write, it is what I was made for.

2. I look at all the things that I need most – time. Time to spend with my family, time with my wife, time to be at all the games, time to take my wife on dates, time to write, time to sleep, and also the money it brings. If I complete my manuscript, get an agent, and let him self my manuscript while I start working on the next, a couple book contracts would give me the money to stop my full time job and get writing full time.

With these things in mind, I have no choice but fight to write. Fight to find time. Fight the temptation to watch tv when I could be pounding out a few thousand words. Fight the desire to sleep all day on my day off because I’m pooped and I want it real bad, when I could brew some dark roast coffee, take a cool shower and hit the keyboard.

I have to fight discouragement when I submit a manuscript and it comes back rejected, and have to remind myself that just as I’ve had them rejected, I’ve have a few accepted; sooner or later with consistence and persistence I’ll get the big manuscript sold instead of just shorts and articles here and there. When I read an editor’s note that says “Sorry, but we are currently not looking for this kind of manuscript.”Have have to follow it up and read through a few of the wonderful critiques that I’ve received on my writings from the writer’s sites I am apart of. (If you haven’t joined a writer’s site look them up there are some really good ones like critters, Author’s Den, or Faith writer’s)

I have had to look at my crazy schedule and and find time, by knocking out where ever I am using time in excess or using it for unimportant things, and put in writing blocks there. Example: I get an hour lunch every day, so I bring my lunch with me, and set up my laptop and write during lunch. If kids go to sleep, and my wife is at work and I do not have to get up too early, I will stay awake later -tv off- and write, or I’ll go to bed when I put the kids down and set my alarm to get up real early and start writing. I carry a pen and little pocket note pad with me all the time for ideas, new directions, character development, story change. And believe it or not, I carry around a little recorder, incase I am having a real busy day and no time to jot down ideas. This way if something good hits me at a bad time (which seems to be the Muse’s way of having fun) I pull the recorder out, walk around the corner and record my idea quickly and then listen to it later.

Well I just put my daughter down for a nap with my wife, and I have to head off to work to meet with two district managers that have flown in to talk about cafe changes. Got to go, guess I’ll be writing at lunch again.

SamTheWriter,

Signing Out

Leave a Reply

