Write On The Run

 

need for speed

Where do you write?

In your car, on a train,

At the park, or baseball game?

On the job, or your lunch break

The ocean front, or at the lake?

(So I’m no Seuss)

 

I have a full time job at a coffeehouse. I love coffee, I really, really do. In fact I’m the general manager of the freakin coolest coffeehouse in Wichita Kansas. Coffee’s a passion of mine; it’s just as much a passion as writing is. I spend more than 60 hours a week at the coffeehouse.

But which is the bigger priority? What’s more important for me? Coffee Vs. Writing…who will be the victor? 

Sometimes I feel it’s the coffeehouse, because of the consistent paycheck it brings in. Other times I feel that writing is more important, which is such a part of my soul that when I neglect it I feel as though I’m neglecting my soul-mate.

And then I have to come back to the important question: Can I balance the two, and if so, how?

First of all, I don’t see that I have the option to neglect or quit writing. I also know that the rent will not get paid if I quit the coffeehouse, not to mention that the money I’d spend on coffee would put me on the street. My only option is to find time to balance the two loves – for practical, financial, and personal-purpose reasons.

So then. I have to chose which lover gets my time at what time. As of right now, my coffeehouse gets the majority of my day. But then, the night and early morning belongs to my literary Muse. And boy do we dance.

Since the priority of the day goes to the endless running of the shop I have to write on the go!

I keep a pad of paper and a pen in my pocket all the time. I also have my trusty (though frustrating sometimes)  Blackberry at my side at all moments. I’ve found that it’s easier to write quantity in the early morning when I wake up or in the evening before bed, when I keep my ideas logged throughout the day.

Ideas hit me constantly: while I’m making a drink for someone, writing the schedules, picking up milk, dropping off a deposit, etc. and as I keep myself in a habit of jotting down those ideas on a pad or in my Blackberry, later I send it to my e-mail so I can go over all the scribbles and I find that I actually have something creatively-pursuable.

Questions:

1. Do you have a fulltime job?

2. What writing habits do you have?

3. If you do have a fulltime job, when was the last time you finished a short story?

I want to encourage you full-timers, to not allow the pen and paper to be neglected. Don’t leave the Muse at home longing to be romanced. Even a step so small as jotting a few notes down during your busy day will help stir up the creative juices and get the creative side of your brain turning and churning – which is good.

Remember that you are a writer. The world NEEDS you! You are a superhero of sorts, creating worlds of temporary escape for those all over the world who need a moment of relief.

Write on the go, and see where it takes you.

Let me how it goes, and have fun!

We are a fellowship, a brotherhood whose words are immortal, endless, ageless. What we write lives far beyond our years. What we put to paper has the power to live and change lives generations after we’ve become dust. We are apart of long chain of artists whose words have made and changed history for the good and bad for thousands of years.

What an ability, what a gift, what a beautiful power. The power to create. The Writer’s.

 

Write, Write, Write!

We are The Writer’s, it’s what we do,

It’s who we are, it’s what we were

Created for.

 

SamTheWriter

Signing off.

One thought on “Write On The Run

  1. You have to have a certain shamelessness to write. You have to be willing to drop your pants in front of anyone that might want to look. And you don’t do that because you’re proud of it, you do that because you have to write. It’s not a choice . . . You write because you have no other option. ~ Rich Mullins

Leave a Reply

