Gadgets and the Pen and the Dance

There are several amazing gadgets out there for getting all your notes and writing ideas quickly recorded on a cell phone (or some other on-the-go-gadget) and shot off into the electronic unknown universe, where mysterious invisible creatures magically synchronize all of our Blackberry’s, desktops, and laptops. It is amazing, I must admit.

I, personally found a few gadgets I use for everyday notes. My favorite (at the moment) is a free note tool called Evernote. It’s perfect for my Blackberry. I think the IPhone has a similar product called AwesomeNote.

Although these tools are amazing, and yes, even necessary for keeping my planets all organized, I find myself, at this very moment, standing in Office Depot, in front of a million different pens. With a bundle of four, thick 250 sheet, college ruled, spiral notebooks; it seems clear to me that I have already decided that I am going to buy one of these crazy expensive pens.

Why?

There is a power in the pen. There is magic, it seems, in the dance between the hand and the pen, as they grip, embrace, and move gracefully, as one, across the finely pressed paper dance floor.

To me, writing is both business and passion. Sometimes I get so caught up in the business and the stress of getting paid for my art, that I can forget the passion and the magic, that romanced me in the first place and caused me to fall in love with the art.

The gadgets are good for the business, but the gadgets do not bring the romance that the pen brings. The magic for my readers should be in the end product, but the magic for me (as the writer) is in the lovemaking process which comes in the dance. The dance happens after the bones have been laid down and before the editing happens, the dance happens when I grab a pad and pen and look over the bones (my ideas) and then let my passion set my mind, and paper ablaze as the hand and the pen romance the paper dance floor.

The business of writing is always calling. As writers, it is always nice to have the freedom to wake up, get some coffee, and produce a day’s worth of writing from home, or a hotel, in our underwear, but the truth is: The business never stops calling.You can write and romance the thought of being where you want, when you want, but for the real professional writer, it is a life of constant deadlines, mental breakdown in the creativity room, and the struggle to keep a healthy flow of story ideas.

This is where it is good to have the gadgets. Think, type onto your phone, press send, and you have it.

Yet remember the romance. Remember that the dance floor is always ready and wanting the dance. Remember that the pen, as our patient loving dance partner is always longing for her dance mate, and the Muse, our other-world creative lover, is constantly reaching her tender hand out to us, bidding us: Come.

I could have saved you the last minute of reading by summarizing this idea as a ‘Business of Writing How-To’, but I was in the mood to dance.

It is a business

It is a passion

We are the Writer’s

Write, Write, Write!

Signing off,

SamtheWriter

PS

Oddly enough, I was very passionate about this as I walked around at Office Depo, so this post was writing and submitted from my Blackberry Curve. 🙂 silly little gadget.

Leave a Reply

