NaNoWriMo Writing Tips

Ok, so I normally spend more time on my blogs, but since this month I am cranking out 50,000 words with thousands of other NaNoWriters all over the world this month, I am going to make my blogs posts short, but sweet.

The tips I will be throwing out this month are not all for everyday writing. These tips are most geared towards those of you completing a 50,000 word novels.

If you are not familiar with NaNoWriMo (Nation Novel Writer’s Month), I will write more later, but for express info go to http://www.NaNoWriMo.com.

Ok let’s get into it.

Short and Sweet.

Tip 1 – You have a story in you that needs to be told. Just start writing.

One of the things that really help me here, is writing SCENES. If I’m not sure where to start my story, since I see my stories like a feature movie in my mind. I think about the movie and scenes from it and then grab my paper, computer, IPad (this year) and write – SCENE: And I’m off, creating a scene. It doesn’t matter where in the Novel this scene, or short story, fits. What is important it that a piece of your story is written.

Tip 2 – Don’t let anything stop you…Keep on Moving!

There are a several things that will come up that will cause you to want to stop writing.

The Characters names do not matter right now. If you are stuck on your character’s name, then write down one of the first names that come to mind just to keep yourself moving. YOU CAN ALWAYS COME BACK WHEN YOU REACH THE FINISH LINE.

Dialog Does Work. Don’t let your character’s dialog do you in. Today I was writing with a fellow author and she got really frustrated and said that she didn’t feel like her dialog felt ‘genuine’ . I reminded her that we have 30 days to produce 50,000 words. Go ahead and skip it for now and move on. Make a note that reminds you what you want the dialog to be about. Then move on and come back later when you are ready.

Writing Yourself Into That Dreaded Corner. This happens a lot. Solution. PRESS ENTER TWICE AND MOVE ON. You may not know where that scene is going, but you do know where another scene going, so step out of the corner and start somewhere else.

Tip 3 – Your Story Has The Answer. I have found that many times as you push on with your story, the story itself will answer your question, or work out the problems that you had to skip. Trust your story.

Remember, KEEP MOVING FORWARD, don’t stop for anything. Write what you do know, skip what you don’t.

HAVE FUN

SamTheWriter,
signing off

Leave a Reply

