Novel Writing Tip: SCENE Writing

MP900400656

NaNoWriMo is under way and your fingers are all over the key board pounding away. Then at some point, if you’re like me, you get stuck and no matter what you do, you feel that you just can’t move forward because this piece is so crucial.

I want to share with you a quick tip on writing your novel that will help you move forward, without that piece done. This way you don’t get stuck, get discouraged, and give up.

SCENE WRITING:

Ok, so I know that not everyone works like this, but if you’re like me when it comes to writing then you see your whole story as a movie, in your mind.

Sometimes when I’m excited about my current WIP, and I’m telling a friend about it, I will actually say “And then in the movie” and I’ll get a funny look from them, “So did you write this or watch it?” They say. “Oh I’m writing and I hope you have the option to read and watch it in the future.” I reply Smile

Here’s what I do.

1. I’ve written down the bones of the story. The basic, skimpy outline.

2. Then I create a fold with each main character Titled “ Max’s Bones”, “Sharon’s Bones” “Kyle’s Bones”

3. In each other those folders I’ll have two more folders. (1) Character sketch (2) SCENES

4. Then I get writing. I read over my outline and as I’m reading a specific SCENE will hit me. Something that I know is going to happen in the book at some point some where.

5. I open the proper SCENE FOLDER and create a document called “What ever the scene is”

EXAMPLE FROM MY CURRENT WIP

As I was at work today sitting at my desk drinking some coffee, I turned around and faced my big dry erase board, and for some reason a tiny scene from my book played in my head. It was a scene where I could see a character frantically writing on the white board, trying to explain a theory about all the craziness happening in a way his love interest would be able to understand.

I quickly opened my IPad, took out my wireless key board, open up my novel writing app  ‘Storiest’, I found the WIP Novel, then the Bones Folder, Then the proper Character’s Bone Folder, then the SCENEs folder and titled a new document THEORY OF SWITCH EXPLAINED.

I started with these words exactly:

SCENE:

And I started describing the movie clip I watched play out in my head.

Remember, that you can always go back later and change things, clean things up, but for now…you need to write.

One of the big reasons that I love SCENE writing is because as I write more and more scene’s more answer come out to help with all the areas I got stuck on earlier.

Another awesome things about SCENE writing, is that so of the best twists come out as you write random scenes.

So if you are stuck, trying to start, or just needing something different to do to refresh everything, give SCENE WRITING a try.

You know, one of my favorite movie series is the Bourne series. I often thought, ‘how in the world did he write that? What a freakin genius.’ And then I watched an interview where the writer said, that all he started with in my mind was one scene, it was the scene in the first Bourne movie when Jason is in the café with the girl, and he starts telling her that he has no clue why he knows every how many cars are in the parking lot and each of their plate numbers, and who has a gun, and all this info.

He had one great scene in his head that he wrote out, and it morphed into an amazing a super successful series.

If you have any idea of any single part of your story, start there, and write it like you see it in the theater of your mind.

Hope this is helpful.

Now I’m off to writing some scenes that I’m excited to get on paper.

SamTheWriter

Signing off.

Leave a Reply

